Graduate Faculty

All tenure/tenure track faculty members in the Department have full graduate faculty membership and can serve any function related to graduate advising.
Functions are:

  • Primary advisor or Co-advisor for both Ph.D. or MS
  • Any role on examining committees, including examiner, thesis reviewer, and/or committee chair (both Ph.D. and MS)
  • Exam committee member for Earth Sciences minor
  • Teach graduate-level courses

The following table shows members of the graduate faculty who are either in our department but not tenure/tenure track or who are not in our department and have been appointed with specific roles related to graduate advising. 
Functions that ALL these members can do:

  • Exam committee member, including thesis reviewer, on MS thesis committee
  • Exam committee member for Earth Sciences minor
  • Teach graduate-level courses

The functions of advising, co-advising, serving on and/or chairing exam committees, and reviewing theses vary from person to person. This table will only address advising/co-advising. For more information regarding individual faculty roles, please contact the Director of Graduate Studies, David Fox at dlfox@umn.edu.
Students with a University login can access faculty roles at https://faculty-roles.umn.edu/

Name Institution Department/Unit Email
Almendinger, Jim University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences
almen001@umn.edu
Barker, Joel University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences barke269@umn.edu
Bilardello, Dario University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Institute for Rock Magnetism dario@umn.edu
Brengman, Latisha University of Minnesota, Duluth Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences lbrengma@d.umn.edu
Brown, Erik University of Minnesota, Duluth Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences etbrown@d.umn.edu
Brown, Max University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences mcbrown@umn.edu 
Curry-Rogers, Kristina Macalester College Department of Biology rogersk@macalester.edu
Davis, Fred University of Minnesota, Duluth Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences fdavis@d.umn.edu
DeLong, Stephen US Geological Survey   sdelong@usgs.gov
Edlund, Mark Science Musuem of Minnesota St. Croix Watershed Research Station medlund@smm.org
Engstrom, Dan Science Musuem of Minnesota St. Croix Watershed Research Station dre@umn.edu
Fayon, Annia University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences fayon001@umn.edu
Flood, Beverly University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences beflood@umn.edu
Gallup, Christina University of Minnesota, Duluth Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences cgallup@d.umn.edu
Goodge, John University of Minnesota, Duluth Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences jgoodge@d.umn.edu
Gran, Karen University of Minnesota, Duluth Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences kgran@d.umn.edu
Hamilton, Trinity University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Dept of Plant and Microbial Biology trinityh@umn.edu
Hansen, Vicki University of Minnesota, Duluth Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences vhansen@d.umn.edu
Hastings, Alex Science Musuem of Minnesota Paleontology ahastings@smm.org 
Heathcote, Adam Science Musuem of Minnesota St. Croix Watershed Research Station aheathcote@smm.org
Jennings, Carrie Freshwater Society   cjennings@freshwater.org
Jones, Daniel New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences daniel.s.jones@nmt.edu
Larson, Phillip Minnesota State University, Mankato Department of Geography phillip.larson@mnsu.edu 
Millet, Dylan University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate dbm@umn.edu
Mooers, Howard University of Minnesota, Duluth Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences hmooers@d.umn.edu
Penn, Lee University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Department of Chemistry rleepenn@umn.edu
Rogers, Raymond Macalester College Department of Geology rogers@macalester.edu
Runkel, Anthony University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Minnesota Geological Survey runke001@umn.edu
Sheik, Cody University of Minnesota, Duluth Department of Biology cssheik@d.umn.edu 
Steinman, Byron University of Minnesota, Duluth Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences bsteinma@d.umn.edu
Toner, Brandy University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate toner@umn.edu
von der Handt, Anette University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences avdhandt@umn.edu
Wattrus, Nigel University of Minnesota, Duluth Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences nwattrus@d.umn.edu
Zimmerman, Mark University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Dept of Earth & Environmental Sciences zimme030@umn.edu