Mathematical Physics

Expand all

More about mathematical physics

Methodologies

The general interests involve a variety of mathematical aspects and methodologies in:

  • Algebra
  • Analysis
  • Computational and Numerical Methods
  • Geometry
  • Topology
  • Partial Differential Equations
  • Probability

Seminars

  • Applied and Computational Mathematics
  • Partial Differential Equations
  • Probability with emphasis on mathematical physics and related applications

Faculty

Douglas Arnold

Douglas Arnold

McKnight Presidential Professor

arnold@umn.edu
Numerical analysis, differential equations, mechanics, computational relativity

chen_nsf_career_grant-thumb.jpg

Wei-Kuo Chen

Associate Professor

wkchen@umn.edu
probability theory, mathematical physics

Jack Conn

Jack Conn

Associate Professor

connx001@umn.edu
differential geometry, mathematical physics

Pei-Ken Hung

Pei-Ken Hung

Assistant Professor

pkhung@umn.edu
geometric analysis, general relativity, integrable probability

Ru-Yu Lai

Ru-Yu Lai

Associate Professor

rylai@umn.edu
inverse problems and partial differential equations

Mitch Luskin

Mitchell Luskin

Professor

luskin@umn.edu
numerical analysis, scientific computing, applied mathematics, computational physics

Svitlana Mayboroda

Svitlana Mayboroda

McKnight Presidential Professor and Northrop Professor

svitlana@umn.edu
analysis and partial differential equations

Willard Miller

Willard Miller, Jr.

Professor Emeritus

miller@math.umn.edu
Lie groups, special functions, q-series, academic administration

Peter Olver

Peter Olver

Professor

olver@umn.edu
Lie groups, differential equations, computer vision, applied mathematics, differential geometry, mathematical physics

Headshot of Alexander Voronov

Alexander Voronov

Professor

voronov@umn.edu
mathematical physics, algebraic topology, algebra, algebraic geometry

li-wang.png

Li Wang

Associate Professor

liwang@umn.edu
numerical analysis, scientific computing, applied math

Alex Watson headshot

Alex Watson

Assistant Professor

abwatson@umn.edu
Partial differential equations, mathematical physics, numerical analysis, computational physics, data science