Professor Svitlana Mayboroda receives Inaugural 2024 Elias M. Stein Prize for New Perspectives in Analysis

MINNEAPOLIS / ST. PAUL (12/13/2023) – University of Minnesota Professor Svitlana Mayboroda and her collaborator, Marcel Filoche of École Supérieure de Physique et Chimie Industrielle (ESPCI), have been jointly awarded the inaugural 2024 Elias M. Stein Prize for New Perspectives in Analysis for their “original, powerful, elegant and impactful theory of the ‘localization landscape’” by the American Mathematical Society (AMS).

Mayboroda and Filoche collaborate on groundbreaking wave research through the Simons Collaboration on Localization of Waves (WAVE). McKnight Presidential Professor of Mathematics Svitlana Mayboroda is both the Director and a Principal Investigator of the project. Marcel Filoche serves as a Principal Investigator for WAVE. He is a Professor of Physics at the Institut Langevin, ESPCI. Both scientists have been previously awarded for this research, most recently with the 2023 US Blavatnik Award for Mayboroda and the 2021 Claude-Berthault prize from the French Academy of Sciences for Filoche.

Filoche and Mayboroda have been developing their landscape localization theory for over a decade. Since 2012, their research has evolved to bring the phenomenon of wave localization into focus. Their breakthrough theory allows researchers to create faster, more accurate computational models of disordered materials in ways that weren’t previously possible. The award recognizes not only the pair’s recent research accomplishments, but also highlights the profound impact of collaboration in the mathematics community.

The Elias M. Stein Prize for New Perspectives in Analysis is awarded for “the development of groundbreaking methods in analysis which demonstrate promise to revitalize established areas or create new opportunities for mathematical discovery.” The prize – endowed in 2022 by Stein’s students, colleagues, and friends to honor Stein’s exceptional legacy in the area of mathematical analysis –  will be awarded every three years. The prize will be presented at the 2024 Joint Mathematics Meetings in San Francisco.