Undergraduate mathematicians awarded four times over at MAA competition

MINNEAPOLIS / ST. PAUL (12/15/2024) – Four teams of University of Minnesota undergraduate mathematics students were awarded with first, second, and third place at the 25th annual Jerry Heuer MAA-NCS Team Competition in November.

First place: Team Genericname

  • Nathan Mihm 
  • Andrew Mou 
  • Dinh-Quan Tran

Second place: Team LAW

  • Lale Baylar 
  • William Cho 
  • Andy Yu

Third place (three-way tie): Team [OZZY 5437]

  • Andrew Hale 
  • Luke Patefield 
  • William Walker

Third place (three-way tie): Team Abdel Orz

  • Jeffrey Hu 
  • Kien Pham

Prof. Anar Akhmadov, who oversaw the teams from UMN writes: “The University of Minnesota math teams performed extremely well in the competition. The impressive performance of our students reflects their remarkable talent and dedication. Congratulations to all!"

The Huer NCS Team Competition brings together teams of three undergraduate students for a day of collaborative problem solving. Teams work together to solve ten problems which are then scored out of 100. This year there were 51 teams from 18 schools, including the four teams from UMN. 2023 contest scores ranged from 97 to 10, with a median of 46.