Partial Differential Equations

 Douglas Arnold

Douglas Arnold
McKnight Presidential Professor
arnold@umn.edu
Numerical analysis, differential equations,
mechanics, computational relativity.

 

Jeffrey Calder

Jeffrey Calder 
Assistant Professor 
jwcalder@umn.edu  
partial differential equations, numerical analysis, applied probability, machine learning, image processing and computer vision

 

Maria-Carme Calderer

Maria-Carme Calderer
Professor
mcc@math.umn.edu
applied mathematics, continuum mechanics, soft condensed matter physics and materials science, with emphasis on liquid crystals, ferroic materials, partial differential equations and calculus of variations

 

Paul Carter

Paul Carter 
Assistant Professor 
pcarter@umn.edu  
dynamical systems, nonlinear waves, partial differential equations, singular perturbations, applied mathematics, pattern formation

 

Max Engelstein

Max Engelstein
Assistant Professor
mengelst@umn.edu
harmonic analysis, geometric measure theory, calculus of variations

 

Hao Jia

Hao Jia
Assistant Professor
jiaxxo34@math.umn.edu
partial differential equations, regularity, stability, large data asymptotics 

 

Markus Keel

Markus Keel
Professor
keel@math.umn.edu
partial differential equations; real, harmonic, and functional analysis

 

Nicolai Krylov

Nicolai Krylov
Samuel G. Ordway Professor
krylov@math.umn.edu
partial differential equations, probability

 

 Ru-Yu Lai

Ru-Yu Lai
Assistant Professor
rylai@math.umn.edu
inverse problems and partial differential equations


 

 Mitchell Luskin

Mitchell Luskin
Professor
luskin@math.umn.edu
numerical analysis, scientific computing,
applied mathematics, computational physics

 

Svitlana Mayboroda

Svitlana Mayboroda
Professor
svitlana@umn.edu
analysis and
partial differential equations

 

Peter Olver

Peter Olver
Professor
olver@umn.edu
Lie groups, differential equations,
computer vision, applied mathematics,
differential geometry, mathematical physics

 

Peter Polacik

Peter Polacik
Professor
polacik@math.umn.edu
partial differential equations, dynamical systems

 

 

Mikhail Safonov

Mikhail Safonov
Professor
safonov@math.umn.edu
partial differential equations, probability

 

Arnd Scheel

Arnd Scheel
Professor
scheel@math.umn.edu
dynamical systems, partial differential equations, applied math

 

 

Daniel Spirn

Daniel Spirn
Professor
spirn@math.umn.edu
partial differential equations, applied mathematics

 

Vladimir Sverak

Vladimir Sverak
McKnight University Professor
sverak@math.umn.edu
partial differential equations

 

Jiaping Wang

Jiaping Wang
Professor
jiaping@math.umn.edu
differential geometry and partial differential equations