Kimberly Logan Awarded Louise T. Dosdall Fellowship for 2018-19

Posted December 14, 2017

Kimberly Logan has been awarded a Louise T. Dosdall Fellowship for the 2018-19 academic year.


Prof. Peter Polacik named Fellow of the American Mathematical Society

Posted November 10, 2017

Prof. Peter Polacik was named Fellow of the American Mathematical Society for 2018 for contributions to partial differential equations and infinite-dimensional dynamical systems.


Griffin Macris receives Karl Menger Prize

Posted October 26, 2017

Griffin Macris, a freshman in the College of Science and Engineering, received the First Place Award for this year's American Mathematical Society Karl Menger Memorial Prize for his poster on number theory, “Polynomials in Z [x] and irrationality measure”. The award was presented at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair, the world’s largest international precollege science competition, that brings together more than 1,800 high school students to present posters with results of their independent research, who are from more than seventy-five countries, regions, and territories, and selected from millions of students worldwide through local science fairs, followed by Intel ISEF-affiliated regional, state, and national fairs. Griffin grew up in New Prague, MN, and intends to major in Mathematics here at the University of Minnesota.

Mitch Luskin

Prof. Mitchell Luskin Named IPAM Simons Participant

Posted September 15, 2017

Professor Mitchell Luskin was named the first IPAM Simons Participant at the Institute for Pure & Applied Mathematics in the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) during their program “Complex High-dimensional Energy Landscapes” which began on September 11, 2017. A conference on Multiscale Theory and Computation in honor of Prof. Luskin's 65th birthday is being held here at the University of Minnesota on September 23-25, 2017.


Tyler Maunu Awarded Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship

Posted June 28, 2017

Tyler Maunu has been awarded a University of Minnesota Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship for 2017-18. Tyler's research interests lie in statistics, machine learning, computer vision, and non-convex optimization, and his thesis advisor is Gilad Lerman. The Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship (DDF) gives the University's most accomplished PhD candidates an opportunity to devote full-time effort to an outstanding research project by providing time to finalize and write a dissertation during the fellowship year.


Han Yong Wunrow Receives Fulbright Award

Posted May 22, 2017

Senior and math major, Han Yong Wunrow, has received a Fulbright Scholarship to teach English in Korea. Born in Korea and adopted at an early age, Wunrow has maintained ties to Korean culture by participating in traditional Samulnori drumming and studying abroad at Pohang University of Science and Engineering. At the University of Minnesota, he is active in several groups in the College of Science and Engineering and in Mathematics. A successful participant mathematical modeling competitions, Wunrow plans to complete graduate study in Health Metrics after his year in Korea.


Congratulations Newly Promoted Faculty

Posted May 18, 2017

The Board of Regents approved the promotion of three faculty members in the School of Mathematics.


Prof. Maury Bramson Elected Member of National Academy of Sciences (NAS)

Posted May 8, 2017

Professor Maury Bramson has been elected as a member of the prestigious National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of his excellence in original scientific research. He works in probability theory, including interacting particle systems, branching Brownian motion, and stochastic networks. The National Academy of Sciences is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.


Laurel Ohm Awarded Torske Klubben Fellowship

Posted May 5, 2017

Laurel Ohm has been awarded a Torske Klubben Fellowship for Minnesota Residents, based on her outstanding academic record and professional promise. The goal of the fellowship program is to support future leaders and maintain cultural ties between Norway and America. Laurel's research interests lie in mathematical biology, and her thesis advisors are Yoichiro Mori and Dan Spirn.


Prof. Svitlana Mayboroda Invited to Speak at ICM 2018

Posted May 4, 2017

Professor Svitlana Mayboroda is an invited sectional speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in summer, 2018, in recognition of her research in analysis and partial differential equations.