Bryan Félix and Lucy Yang awarded NSF Graduate Fellowships

Posted April 26, 2018

Bryan Félix and Lucy Yang were both awarded prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowships. Bryan is a second year mathematics Ph.D. student studying mathematical biology under Hans Othmer. Lucy is a graduating math major, who wrote her honors thesis under Alexander Voronov, and will start the Harvard University mathematics graduate program next fall. The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students who have demonstrated potential for significant achievements in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

Professor Svitlana Mayboroda Awarded McKnight Presidential Professorship

Svitlana Mayboroda Awarded First Northrop Professorship at U of M

Posted April 6, 2018

Svitlana Mayboroda has been awarded the first Northrop Professorship at the University of Minnesota. The Provost's letter of appointment says, “This newly established professorship was created to recognize field-shaping faculty who have made significant advances in their careers and whose national and international work has been identified as having helped define the trajectory of one or more academic fields, and whose accomplishment have brought great renown and prestige to Minnesota."


2016-17 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Posted March 28, 2018

Congratulations to Harini Chandramouli, Shelley Kandola, and Tara Palnitkar, recipients of the 2016 - 2017 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award. The Instructional Evaluation Committee chose the recipients based on nominations from students and faculty, and on faculty evaluations.


JMM Special Session in Honor of Prof. Dennis Stanton

Posted January 24, 2018

A Special Session on Special Functions and Combinatorics in honor of Prof. Dennis Stanton's 65th birthday was held on January 10-11 at the Joint Mathematics Meeting in San Diego. The session highlighted Dennis' many contributions to the field, and was organized by Susanna Fishel, Mourad Ismail, and Vic Reiner. It included 20 high profile speakers and over 60 in attendance, many with Minnesota connections.


Yunpeng Shi Awarded MnDRIVE Graduate Assistantship

Posted December 19, 2017

Yunpeng Shi has been awarded a MnDRIVE Graduate Assistantship by the University of Minnesota Informatics Institute. The program funds PhD graduate students pursuing research at the intersection of informatics and any of the four MnDRIVE initiatives, in this case robotics, sensors, and advanced manufacturing. Yunpeng is a student of Prof. Gilad Lerman and works in computer vision, machine learning, and data analysis.


Kimberly Logan Awarded Louise T. Dosdall Fellowship for 2018-19

Posted December 14, 2017

Kimberly Logan has been awarded a Louise T. Dosdall Fellowship for the 2018-19 academic year.


Prof. Peter Polacik named Fellow of the American Mathematical Society

Posted November 10, 2017

Prof. Peter Polacik was named Fellow of the American Mathematical Society for 2018 for contributions to partial differential equations and infinite-dimensional dynamical systems.


Griffin Macris receives Karl Menger Prize

Posted October 26, 2017

Griffin Macris, a freshman in the College of Science and Engineering, received the First Place Award for this year's American Mathematical Society Karl Menger Memorial Prize for his poster on number theory, “Polynomials in Z [x] and irrationality measure”. The award was presented at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair, the world’s largest international precollege science competition, that brings together more than 1,800 high school students to present posters with results of their independent research, who are from more than seventy-five countries, regions, and territories, and selected from millions of students worldwide through local science fairs, followed by Intel ISEF-affiliated regional, state, and national fairs. Griffin grew up in New Prague, MN, and intends to major in Mathematics here at the University of Minnesota.

Mitch Luskin

Prof. Mitchell Luskin Named IPAM Simons Participant

Posted September 15, 2017

Professor Mitchell Luskin was named the first IPAM Simons Participant at the Institute for Pure & Applied Mathematics in the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) during their program “Complex High-dimensional Energy Landscapes” which began on September 11, 2017. A conference on Multiscale Theory and Computation in honor of Prof. Luskin's 65th birthday is being held here at the University of Minnesota on September 23-25, 2017.


Tyler Maunu Awarded Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship

Posted June 28, 2017

Tyler Maunu has been awarded a University of Minnesota Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship for 2017-18. Tyler's research interests lie in statistics, machine learning, computer vision, and non-convex optimization, and his thesis advisor is Gilad Lerman. The Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship (DDF) gives the University's most accomplished PhD candidates an opportunity to devote full-time effort to an outstanding research project by providing time to finalize and write a dissertation during the fellowship year.