Two grad students with robots

50 years of computing excellence

smart hugs

'Smart hug' tech aims to improve health

Prototype system uses voice-based conversation and physiological data to monitor the stress level of a user, and if needed, offers a calming hug.

George Karypis headshot

Karypis wins top award from PAKDD

He was selected for the PAKDD Distinguished Contributions Award for outstanding contributions to data mining and knowledge discovery.

Gabe Mersy headshot

CSpotlight: Gabe Mersy

The recent B.A. graduate (and Minneapolis native) discovered that computer science offered the perfect blend of math, statistics, and coding.

Dasari and Kawas headshots

CS&E to welcome two CIFellows in January 2022

Mallesham Dasari and Saba Kawas were selected for the prestigious Computing Innovation Fellowship to pursue postdoc research at the U of M.
Benjamin DeNio headshot

CSpotlight: A master at problem solving

Benjamin DeNio, a recipient of the CS&E Maximillian Lando Scholarship, grew and maintained a online gaming group to connect with others during the pandemic.

Congratulations to the 2021 CS&E scholarship recipients

The department awards scholarships that recognize merit each spring. 38 students are receiving scholarships for the 2021-2022 academic year.


undergraduate students


graduate students


faculty members

The Department of Computer Science & Engineering at the University of Minnesota has come a long way in the past 50 years. We have made tremendous progress and have become one of the most vibrant and interdisciplinary departments within the College of Science and Engineering, the University of Minnesota, and the computer science field at large.

Watch and listen to stories of how the department started, the years of growth, and where we are headed in the future.