Collegiate awards

College of Science and Engineering - George W. Taylor Awards

George W. Taylor Award for Distinguished Research

Established in 1982, the Taylor Award for Distinguished Research recognizes younger faculty members who have shown outstanding ability in research.

Recipient Year
Arindam Banerjee ** 2019
Tian He ** 2015
Zhi-Li Zhang 2005

** former faculty member

George W. Taylor/CSE Alumni Society Award for Distinguished Teaching

The Taylor/CSE Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching recognizes outstanding contributions to undergraduate and/or graduate teaching.

Recipient Year
Ravi Janardan 2015
Joseph Konstan 2013

George W. Taylor Career Development Award

The Career Development Award recognizes exceptional contributions to teaching by a candidate for tenure.

Recipient Year
Lana Yarosh 2020
Chad Myers 2013
Joseph Konstan 1999
John Riedl † 1996

† deceased

College of Science and Engineering - Charles E. Bowers Faculty Teaching Award

The Charles E. Bowers Faculty Teaching Award recognizes “an outstanding professor who has demonstrated exceptional interest and commitment to the teaching of students in the College of Science and Engineering.”

Recipient Year
Daniel Keefe 2021
Stephen Guy 2018
Eric Van Wyk 2017
Wei-Chung Hsu ** 2006

** former faculty member

College of Science and Engineering - Guillermo E. Borja Award

The Guillermo E. Borja award is given to promising young faculty members of the College of Science and Engineering in recognition of their research and scholarly accomplishments during their probationary period as assistant professors. The award come with $3500 to use for scholarly and research activities.

Recipient Year
Dan Keefe 2014
Stergios Roumeliotis ** 2009

** former faculty member

 College of Continuing and Professional Studies - Distinguished Teaching Award

Reward academic leadership or instruction in credit or noncredit programs or courses offered or co-sponsored by College of Continuing and Professional Studies (CCAPS). Nominees will have a sustained contribution to CCAPS of at least 3-5 years.

Recipient Year
Maria Gini 1995

Science and Engineering Student Board - Best Professor Award

This series of awards was offered by the the Science and Engineering Student Board. Recipients were selected via a CSE student poll.

Recipient Year
Chris Dovolis 2008
Nick Hopper 2007
Carl Sturtivant 2006
Chris Dovolis 2005
Carl Sturtivant 2004
Carl Sturtivant 2003
Carl Sturtivant 2002
Carl Sturtivant 2001
Chris Dovolis 2000
Chris Dovolis 1999
Chris Dovolis 1997
John Carlis † 1996
John Carlis † 1995
John Carlis † 1994
John Carlis † 1993
Daniel Boley 1989
Ravi Janardan 1988

† deceased

Council of Graduate Students (COGS) Outstanding Advisor Award 

Every year, COGS presents an annual award to outstanding faculty members who go above and beyond in their work with graduate students. Faculty members are nominated by and winners are selected by graduate students.

Recipient Year
George Karypis 2019