University-wide awards


Award for Outstanding Contributions to Postbaccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education

Established in 1999, this University-wide award recognizes outstanding contributions to postbaccalaureate, graduate, and/or professional education. Recipients are honored for their performance as teachers, advisors, and mentors; their development of instructional programs; and/or their inclusion of students in research, scholarship, and professional development.

Chad Myers2024
Nikolaos Papanikolopoulos2022
Dan Boley2019
Maria Gini2016
Shashi Shekar2015
Joseph Konstan2010
Mats Heimdahl2004

Distinguished Women Scholar Awards

Sponsored by the Graduate School and the Office for University Women, these awards acknowledged and honored the accomplishments of distinguished women scholars at the University of Minnesota.

Maria Gini2001

Horace T. Morse-Minnesota Alumni Association Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education

Each year since 1965, the University of Minnesota has recognized a select group of faculty members for their outstanding contributions to undergraduate education. This honor is awarded to exceptional candidates nominated by colleges in their quest to identify excellence in undergraduate education. In addition to honoring individual faculty members, the award contributes to the improvement of undergraduate education at the University by publicizing their work to serve as a resource for the whole faculty.

Lana Yarosh2021
Dan Keefe2019
Chris Dovolis2013
Maria Gini1987

Institute on the Environment Fellow

The goal of the Institute on the Environment (IonE) Fellows is to support creative faculty members from a range of backgrounds and to generate a new cadre of world‐class environmental leaders and problem solvers. The Institute’s fellows are selected to:

  • Pursue new “out of the box” interdisciplinary research and problem solving
  • Create new models of teaching and training
  • Accelerate their professional and leadership development
  • Engage with new Institute‐wide initiatives and programs
  • Build new networks and collaborations
Vipin Kumar2016
Tian He **2014
Arindam Banerjee **2012
Shashi Shekhar2011
Volkan Isler2009

** former faculty member

McKnight Presidential Fellows

The McKnight Presidential Fellows Program is a three-year award given to the most promising individuals who have been granted both tenure and promotion to associate professor in an academic year. It recognizes recipients who are recommended by their college dean and chosen at the discretion of the executive vice president and provost based on excellence in research and scholarship, leadership, potential to build top-tier programs, and ability to advance University of Minnesota priorities.

Hyun Soo Park2022
Lana Yarosh2020
Mats Heimdahl2001

Mullen-Spector-Truax Women's Leadership Award

The Mullen-Spector-Truax Women's Leadership Award is given annually to a faculty or staff woman at the University who has made outstanding contributions to women's leadership development.

Maria Gini2011

President's Award for Outstanding Service

The award is presented each year in the spring and recognizes exceptional service to the University, its schools, colleges, departments, and service units by any active or retired faculty or staff member. Recipients of this award have gone well beyond their regular duties and have demonstrated an unusual commitment to the University community.

Joseph Konstan2022
Maria Gini2019
James McDonald **2016
Marvin Stein †2009

** former staff member
† deceased

Outstanding Community Service Award

The University of Minnesota Outstanding Community Service Staff Award is the highest honor the university gives to a staff member for service to the community. The award recognizes the significant contributions made to the community, including building University-community partnerships and programs that benefit our students, faculty, staff, and community partners.

Kelly Thomas2022

Outstanding Mentor Award

The Outstanding Mentor Award was offered by the University President’s Distinguished Faculty Mentor Program.

Chris Dovolis1999

Richard P. Braun Distinguished Service Award

The Richard P. Braun Distinguished Service Award is presented annually to a transportation professional for outstanding leadership in research and innovation. It is named after founding Center for Transportation Studies (CTS) director Richard Braun for his leadership and contribution to research, and as a champion of transportation innovation.

Nikolaos Papanikolopoulos2013


Women’s Center Charlotte Striebel Equity Award

The Women’s Center Charlotte Striebel Equity award recognizes a University of Minnesota faculty or staff member who goes above and beyond daily responsibilities to promote access for the common good, to undo bias and discrimination, or to build capacity for diverse and equitable campus communities.

Shana Watters2024

University of Minnesota Provost’s Unit Service Award

The University of Minnesota Provost’s Unit Service Award is for countless service contributions to the department. 

Shana Watters2024